Leading Christian Resource for Avid Readers, Support New Schools with Every Purchase.

Dawn Brookes

< Back to author list
Dawn Brookes
Dawn Brookes is an award winning cosy mystery and crime writer who also writes memoirs and children's books.
She has an MA in Creative Writing with Distinction.

Dawn will be shortly releasing the tenth book in the Rachel Prince Mystery series, Captain's Dinner Cruise Murder. Others in the Rachel Prince series include:

#1 A Cruise to Murder set during a Mediterranean cruise
#2 Deadly Cruise set on a transatlantic crossing
#3 Killer Cruise set during a Baltic cruise.
#4 Dying to Cruise set during a cruise around Australia and New Zealand
#5 A Christmas Cruise Murder set on a Canary Island cruise
#6 Murderous Cruise Habit set on a Caribbean cruise
#7 Honeymoon Cruise Murder set on a Mediterranean cruise
#8 A Murder Mystery Cruise set on a cruise to the Norwegian Ffords.
#9 Hazardous Cruise set on a Mediterranean and Adriatic cruise
#10 Captain's Dinner Cruise Murder

Dawn has also written three nursing memoirs, the first is based in Leicester, the second in London and the third in a place unnamed. Hurry up Nurse: memoirs of nurse training in the 1970s has turned out to be a popular memoir topping its kindle category in the USA for over 18 months.

The second memoir Hurry up Nurse 2: London calling is based at the London Chest Hospital in Bethnal Green, was released in 2017.

The third Hurry up Nurse 3: More adventures in the life of a student nurse. completes the series relating to nurse training.

The books are available in paperback, large print, kindle and audiobooks.

Dawn grew up in Leicester, England and initially trained as a nurse there. She later moved to London to undertake further training in the East End. Dawn worked in the NHS in England for the best part of thirty-nine years and during that time gained a wide range of experience as well as academic and professional qualifications. She holds an MA in Creative Writing.

Dawn's website can be found at: https://www.dawnbrookespublishing.com

Dawn holds a bachelors degree with Honours and a Masters degree in education she is currently studying for an MA in Creative Writing

Children's Books

Dawn has written a number of children's books including:

Suki Seal and the Plastic Ring
Gerry the One-Eared Cat, Danny the Caterpillar, the Ava & Oliver adventure series and a few bible stories as part of her 'Miracles of Jesus' series.
Dawn has founded a literature festival on her local patch, the third of which will take place in May 2020. The Oakwood Literature Festival aims to engage readers and authors with all things literature.

Sign up to the Stevens Books Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more

By signing up, I confirm that I'm over 16. To find out what personal data we collect and how we use it, please visit. our Privacy Policy.