Shopping Cart

Free Shipping on Orders over $35!

Pragmatic Perspectives on Language and Linguistics Volume I: Speech Actions in Theory and Applied Studies

Pragmatic Perspectives on Language and Linguistics Volume I: Speech Actions in Theory and Applied Studies

Regular price $367.72
  • ISBN-13: 9781443817110
  • Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing
  • Release Date: Jan 01, 2010
  • Edition: New edition
  • Pages: 510 pages
  • Dimensions: 5.7 x 1.5 x 8.1 inches

Overview

'Speech Actions in Theory and Applied Studies', the first of the two volumes of 'Pragmatic Perspectives on Language and Linguistics', brings together twenty essays which critically examine linguistic action and explore ways in which it can be accounted for. The articles presented in this collection are all focused on 'doing things with words', but in most cases do not subscribe to speech act theory in the tradition of John L. Austin and John R. Searle. The linking thread through the volume is not a theoretical commitment to one of the speech act theoretic models, but the authors' perspective on language as a means of action, on how linguistic expressions become effective in context and how this effectiveness can be explicated. The papers represent different pragmatic approaches and varied level of expertise in the research area; among the authors there are eminent linguists and philosophers, well established researchers, and young beginners. The texts include purely theoretical discussions, case studies, reports on research in experimental pragmatics, contrastive and corpus studies, and pedagogical implications of pragmatic reflection on the nature of language. Without purporting to cover all relevant topics, this variety reflects the complex character of linguistic pragmatics and integrates studies which cross-cut other research fields. The book is divided in three parts. The seven papers gathered in the first part of the volume, 'Speech Action in Theory', are concentrated on theoretical issues pertaining to speech as a type of action with emphasis both on linguistic forms (e.g. fragments) and theoretical commitments and particular theories' explanatory power. Part two, 'Case Studies & Experimental Pragmatics' includes reports on research into irony processing in Polish and in English as a second language, intercultural differences in interactions broadcast in the media, power relations in doctor/patient interaction, and metaphors in media discourse at the time of crisis. Part three, 'Pragmatics, Grammar, and Language Pedagogy', contains five essays, which explore both more 'formal' pragmatics through analyses of grammatical forms and the interface which the analysis of these forms share with context-grounded research, and practical implications of pragmatic knowledge in language didactics. The collection is supplemented by texts gathered in volume two, entitled 'Pragmatics of Semantically Restricted Domains'.

Customer Reviews


We Also Recommend