Shopping Cart
Summary of The Lake House: A Novel by Kate Morton

Summary of The Lake House: A Novel by Kate Morton

Regular price $20.99 Sale price

Compare at $28.39

  • ISBN-13: 9781539124337
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Release Date: Sep 29, 2016
  • Pages: 78 pages
  • Dimensions: 0.18 x 9.0 x 6.0 inches


Warning: This is an independent addition to The Lake House, meant to enhance your experience of the original book. If you have not yet bought the original copy, make sure to purchase it before buying this unofficial summary from aBookaDay. INTRODUCTION The Lake House by Kate Morton is about diving into the past. The novel transports the reader to different time-periods throughout a century. The story takes place in the early 1900’s, the 1930’s (1932 - 1933 for the most part), and in 2003. In August 1933, a young woman buries something in the woods. We aren’t sure what it is or who she is, but we learn she will never forget what she’s done. The book then takes us to June 1933, a month earlier, where we meet a young, adventurous, romantic girl named Alice Edevane. Alice lives with her mother, Eleanor, her father, Anthony, her two sisters (her younger sister Clementine and her older sister Deborah), and her baby brother, Theodore, on an estate known as Loeanneth. Leoanneth, located in Cornwall, England, is described through Alice’s thoughts as being a very beautiful and peaceful place to live. It’s a beautiful day and all Alice wants to do is go talk with Ben Munro and forget about the annual Midsummer Party her mother is frantically preparing for. We are then brought to the year 2003, where we're introduced to detective Sadie Sparrow. We learn that she’s on temporarily leave for mishandling a case involving a missing child (referred to as the Bailey case throughout the novel) and is visiting her grandfather who lives in Cornwall. When she’s on her daily run, she stumbles across an abandoned Loeanneth. She learns that the little baby, Theodore disappeared during a party held at Loeanneth back in June 1933. The book takes the reader back and forth between the early 1900’s, the 1930’s, and to the year 2003 as Sadie uncovers the truth behind Theodore Edevanes disappearance. The novel is about motherhood, the difficulties of motherhood, and the loss of oneself as well as the loss of loved ones. It’s about the lives of different characters and the decisions they make when placed in difficult situations. Available on PC, Mac, smart phone, tablet or Kindle device. © 2015 All Rights Reserved

Customer Reviews

We Also Recommend