Shopping Cart

The Framework for Success in Postsecondary Writing: Scholarship and Applications (Writing Program Administration)

Regular price $108.80 Sale price

Compare at $133.69

  • ISBN-13: 9781602359307
  • Publisher: Parlor Press
  • Release Date: Mar 01, 2017
  • Pages: 332 pages
  • Dimensions: 0.88 x 9.02 x 5.98 inches
  • Sales Rank: 0


"Some people within the United States seem caught up in extreme fear, expressed in isolationism, Islamophobia, and other bigotries. Certainly there is call for caution and for vigilance, but extremists don't particularly like these words: they want to ban Muslims from entering the United States, to put certain people in internment camps, to refuse to accept any refugees from Syria and other countries. It's a very dispiriting time, here at the end of 2015, and it's hard to find examples of people thinking clearly and cogently, which is one reason I have been so drawn to the work of this volume that is dedicated to developing young people's abilities to think clearly and cogently--and creatively and ethically as well."
—Andrea A. Lunsford

The Framework for Success in Postsecondary Writing: Scholarship and Applications illustrates the widespread applications of the Framework for Success in Postsecondary Writing, especially the eight habits of mind, in helping students to be successful not only in postsecondary writing courses but also in four arenas of life: academic, professional, civic, and personal. Chapters focus on a wide range of research, theory, and practice related to using the habits of mind and other features of the Framework to enhance teaching and learning.

With a Foreword by Peggy O'Neill, Linda Adler-Kassner, Cathy Fleischer, and Anne-Marie Hall and an Afterword by Andrea A. Lunsford.

Additional contributors include Nicholas Behm, Ellen C. Carillo, Beth Brunk-Chavez, Angela Clark-Oates, Dana Driscoll, Andrea Feldman, Amy C. Kimme Hea, Alice S. Horning, Lauren S. Ingraham, Kristine Johnson, Peter H. Khost, Faith Kurtyka, Amanda Laudig, Andrea A. Lunsford, Alice Johnston Myatt, Dawn S. Opel, Lori Ostergaard, Rebecca Powell, Sherry Rankins-Robertson, Rodrigo Joseph RodrIguez, Duane Roen, Cathy Rorai, Jenna Pack Sheffield, Ellen Shelton, Martha A. Townsend, and Kenneth C. Walker.

About the Editors

Nicholas N. Behm is Associate Professor of English at Elmhurst College in Elmhurst, Illinois.
Sherry Rankins-Robertson is Associate Professor of Rhetoric and Writing at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.
Duane Roen is Professor of English at Arizona State University, where he serves as Dean of the College of Integrative Sciences and Arts, Dean of University College, and Vice Provost.

Customer Reviews

We Also Recommend